In Between But Not Yet

I read Wesley Hill’s post today and truly resonated with his comments on Holy Saturday. I can only imagine how heavy of a day it was for the disciples as they encountered one of the most excruciating days on Good Friday and to be sitting and waiting. The doubts going through their head must have been overwhelming. I’m sure they questioned whether they had spent the last three years following a man who was a complete charlatan.

Holy Saturday is a day where I recognize and resonate with my current state. The sacrifice has been made for me, but I am still waiting for the true fulfillment of God’s salvation. My time here on earth is the period in between where I am patiently waiting my full acceptance into the kingdom. It weighs so heavy at times that it is hard to realize the hope and glory that will be brought about in the end. Trying to hold onto that hope… trying to know that promises have been made… trying to believe that there is something greater than my current circumstance. All of this is reflected in Holy Saturday. I simply cannot wait till the glorious completion that will be brought in the morning. However for now, I simply remain in the in between, but not yet.

 

One thought on “In Between But Not Yet

  1. Hey! Found your blog through “likes” on SF.
    (The sentiment “Stay Strong, Sojourner!” resonated with me!)

    You know how Romans 8 goes. It’s wild. Waiting is hard.
    But the One for whom we wait is beautiful!

    “I simply cannot wait till the glorious completion that will be brought in the morning.”
    Amen to that!

Leave a Reply

