Set Back or Opportunity

I recently got injured and am now stuck on a couch for two weeks, having to keep my foot elevated and only able to get around on crutches.  This injury happened in the middle of two of the most busy weeks of the year for me and as a result all my plans are now irrelevant.  All I can do now is sit.

This experience has forced me to face many questions in my life that I have been dreading such as:  If I ever got into an emergency would people be there? If I am unable to be productive, do I view myself any less?  Do I have the self-control to face two weeks on my own?  Is God truly enough when it is only Him and me.

I don’t know how I am going to get through the next two weeks doing nothing.  So far, it looks like I will be spending an unhealthy amount of time on the couch, alone.  I know this is not a good situation for me. 

Somehow I want to view the next to weeks knowing that it is full of opportunity not only for my own self but for God to do his work.  I know that having this time alone is important because God can speak to me much more in the silence.  I need to learn how to not constantly turn to others in the midst of this time.  Texts, social media, and even simply posting on here is a cry for connection.  How do I learn to let God take the place of these needs?

4 thoughts on “Set Back or Opportunity

  1. I work from home, so I can relate to your thoughts. I struggle tremendously with temptation and distractions of evil things. Stay strong. I am praying for you that God will use this time to speak to you and to give you wisdom and comfort. Most of all I pray that you are healed quickly in Jesus name.

  2. Just take a deep spiritual breath, and stand still. I’ve been in that position many times during my walk with the Lord, and it can be uncomfortable, very uncomfortable. Because our mind will start wondering “where are you Lord”……”why are you not hearing my cries”…..”why are you so silent”……”Why……why…..why?”

    At times I went through such darkness, while being alone, I thought I was loosing my mind! In time the Lord came through maybe not in the way I thought He should have come through. These are times He wants to bring you closer, our human selves can just be caught up in so much business that He constructs circumstances to be such to bring us to Him. It settles us, and then He can draw near to teach us something, correct us on something, or just bring a deep healing in an area that we did not know needed to be worked upon. He wants US to be totally dependent upon Him, and not rely upon our own sufficiency.
    After all it is in our weaknesses that HE is made strong, and He wants to prove to us HIS STRENGTH!!!!!!!

    So be assured that we can, like Jesus:
    2Co 3:4 And such trust have we through Christ to God-ward:
    2Co 3:5 Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think any thing as of ourselves; but our sufficiency is of God;

    The Lord bless you, and I’ll be praying as the Lord should lead.
    In His Eternal Love……

  3. Sorry to read that man! Hope that you can stay near to God. I know how bad free time and being stuck somewhere are for me. If you’re interested in skyping with an Aussie guy to pass some of the time; I’m happy to help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

