Gotta love Holmes and Watson

Last night I went and watched the new Sherlock Holmes movie with my siblings.  I don’t really want to get into critiquing movies on this blog, but I honestly had a ton of fun watching the movie and would recommend it.  I love the humor and wit exhibited by the characters as well as the quirkiness of Holmes.  I am more and more drawn to people and characters that are different from the average, typical, and boring man.  Especially when they are shameless in exhibiting their quirkiness.

One of the most compelling elements in the movie was the relationship between Holmes and the Watson.  There are rarely strong friendships exhibited between men in movies and so immediately I was drawn to the relationship between the two.  While there was never really outward sentiment exhibited during the movie, the underlying friendship is and how much the two care for each other is strongly implied.  They both are at a place where regardless of the crap that they other gets into or no matter how ridiculous the situation, they aren’t surprised and will stick through it together.  As frustrating as it may be in a way for Watson to keep being thrust into situations due to Holme’s narcissistic tendencies, there is a underlying trust that exists.  They know that they both will be there for each other through every fight, battle, or case.

I know that I am projecting my own desires and longings, but I felt as though I could understand and relate to Holmes’ struggle with Watson getting married.  The uncertainty of not knowing how the friendship would look in the future is difficult for Holmes and he makes a desperate attempt to be supportive while simultaneously hold on to the friendship in the best way he knows how.  I am trying to figure out myself how to deal with my married friends and the future of our relationships.  Part of me believes it is an impossible situation that cannot find be redeemed, however, I want to hold onto the small glimmer of hope that there is a place for me in their lives still…

As we walked out of the movie, all of us mentioned how the relationship between Holmes and Watson was excellent and on its way to joining all the other famous film duos.  While the emotional connection isn’t necessarily depicted, the development and depiction of their hilarious and subtly caring relationship will probably fall into my own list of favorite film/t.v. friendships behind other greats such as Sam and Frodo (LOTR), J.D. and Turk (Scrubs), and Andy and Red (Shawshank Redemption).  Any other good movies with solid friendships depicted?

One thought on “Gotta love Holmes and Watson

  1. Although all of the freshness that was part of the first one is somewhat over-used, the flick is still a lot of fun with Downey Jr., Harris, and Law breathing life into each of their own characters. However, I was kind of disappointed by Noomi Rapace’s role as she just simply stands there and really doesn’t do anything. Regardless though, good review. Check mine out when you can.

Leave a Reply

